The handlebar on a gravel bike is similar to those on a road bike, but because it is used for different purposes, there are a few differences. OBVIOUS tips for your gravel handlebar !

 

When you're riding your gravel bike, you've probably come across hikers asking you if it's really practical to venture out on the trails with a road bike. These handlebars are a real visual marker for road bikes.

If you quickly explain that it's just like a road bike with big tyres, you'll get the message across !

But that's not all. Your position, the developments, the mechanical behaviour of the frame... Everything has been designed for gravel.

 

Even the bar

 

This article doesn't cover drop, flare, reach, backsweep or material. Other articles cover this very well. Its purpose is to consider the use we make of our ON/OFF titanium gravel bike and to determine the handlebars best suited to that use.

 

The OBVIOUS gravel titanium ON/OFF is fitted as standard with the Gravel 100 model from Deda Elementi, the famous Italian brand of bicycle components. Its shape has been designed with gravel in mind, but depending on how you approach gravel, there may be a better choice.

 

What should you look for when choosing handlebars ?

The handlebar of a road bike is often geared towards speed, for tucking in your elbows and riding in a peloton. On a gravel bike, aerodynamics are less important (tyre studs, looser clothing, etc.) and you're no longer squeezed into a group. In addition to speed and aerodynamics, you'll need to consider comfort and handling on rougher terrain, as well as visibility so you can see obstacles and enjoy the countryside.

 

Between all these considerations, you need to ask yourself questions about your riding and know what kind of balance you need.

  • You want to ride as fast as possible, go for short rides or races? Focus on aerodynamics. Handlebars with narrow width, small opening, low position, projected forward . Our titanium gravel bike ON/OFF, in its standard version, is designed for short, day-long rides. We chose the Gravel 100 because it's not very opened and its depth is close to that of a road bike.
  • Is your favourite playground made up of rough trails? Choose control and stability with a fairly wide, shallow and very openedhandlebar, high enoughpositioned. Our choice goes to Deda Gera Aluminium model. Its shallow depth gives you a position that doesn't project too far forward, and its wide opening ensures excellent control of the bike. As an added bonus, its slightly forward grip at the top of the handlebars will give you a more aerodynamic, with tucked in elbows, position on rolling sections.
  • You are a bikepacker? The handlebar should have several confortable hand positions, and be wide enough to accommodate a front bag. We recommend a position that's not too high, moderately deep, and an handlebar not too opened. The SuperZero Gravel handlebars seem to us to be very appropriate but it's up to you to choose, because nobody else travels like you!
cintre deda

source : dedaelementi.com

 

 

For any other choice, please do not hesitate to discuss it with us.

Le cintre d'un gravel ressemble au cintre d'un vélo de route, mais comme l'usage n'est pas le même, il y a quelques différences. Les conseils d'OBVIOUS pour votre cintre gravel !

 

Quand vous rouler avec votre gravel, il vous est probablement arrivé de croiser des randonneurs qui vous demandent si c'est vraiment pratique de s'aventurer dans les chemins avec un vélo de route. Ce cintre est un vrai marqueur visuel du vélo de route.

En expliquant rapidement que c'est comme un vélo de route avec des gros pneus, ça passe !

Alors, c'est vrai, il n'y a pas que ça. Votre position, les développements, le comportement mécanique du cadre,… Tout a été pensé pour le gravel.

 

Même le cintre.

 

Cet article n'aborde pas les valeurs de drop, de flare, de reach, de backsweep, ni la matière. D'autres articles en parlent très bien. Sa vocation est de raisonner sur l'utilisation que l'on fait de notre gravel titane ON/OFF et de déterminer le cintre le plus adapté à cette utilisation.

 

Le gravel titane ON/OFF de OBVIOUS est équipé de série du modèle Gravel 100 de chez Deda Elementi, célèbre marque italienne de composants vélo. Sa forme a été pensée pour le gravel, mais selon la manière dont vous envisager le gravel, peut-être y a-t-il un meilleur choix.

 

Que doit-on rechercher quand on choisit un cintre ?

Le cintre d'un vélo de route est souvent orienté vers la vitesse, pour rentrer les coudes, rouler en peloton. En gravel, l'aérodynamique est moins importante (crampons sur les pneus, vêtements plus amples,…) et on n'est plus serré dans un groupe. A la vitesse et l'aérodynamique, on va rechercher ajouter des considérations de confort et de pilotage sur terrain plus chahuté, puis de visibilité pour voir les obstacles et profiter de la nature.

 

Entre toutes ces considérations, vous devez vous posez les questions sur votre pratique et savoir quel est l'équilibre dont vous avez besoin.

  • Vous voulez rouler le plus vite possible, faire des sorties courtes, des courses ? Mettez l'accent sur l'aérodynamique. Cintre étroit, peu d'ouverture, position basse, projetée sur l'avant. Notre gravel titane ON/OFF, dans sa version standard, est fait pour les sorties courtes, à la journée. Nous avons choisi le Gravel 100 car il est peu ouvert et sa profondeur est proche de celle d'un vélo de route.
  • Votre terrain de jeu favori est fait de chemins difficiles? Choisissez le contrôle et la stabilité avec un cintre assez large, peu profond et très ouvert, positionné assez haut. Notre choix s'orientera vers un modèle Gera Aluminium. Sa faible profondeur vous donne une position peu projetée sur l'avant et sa grande ouverture assure un excellent contrôle du vélo. Petit plus, sa prise en haut de cintre, légèrement avancée, vous donnera une position plus aéro, avec les coudes rentrés, sur les portions roulantes.
  • Vous êtes un voyageur? Le cintre doit avoir plusieurs prises de mains confortables, être suffisamment large pour placer une sacoche. Nous recommandons une position pas trop haute, moyennement profonde, et un cintre pas trop ouvert. Le cintre SuperZero Gravel nous semble très approprié mais c'est vous qui choisissez, car personne d'autre ne voyage comme vous !
cintre deda

source : dedaelementi.com

 

 

Pour tout autre choix, n'hésitez pas à en discuter avec nous.